An Old Book

Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 23.16.09bookscan1 scan39 Scan22 9 Scan22 10 scan42

 

With a clear interest in archives and photographs as objects I found myself looking at albums and scrapbooks. One in particular that I though could inspire my photography was an old book my grandmother gave to my mother. Which therefore ended up in my hands. It is a collection of inscriptions of poems, stories, illustrations, jokes and riddles, dating back to 1904. I thought that perhaps I could create some sort of imaginary narrative, as the only information about the book is the unrelated, impersonal inscriptions.  I began reading through the book, however felt uninspired and slightly lost, as the book is a beautiful piece that almost doesn’t need anything added to it. It is a piece of history and an object which I felt didn’t need addition material to portray that.

Leave a Reply

