Salford and Castlefield

img021 

As I search for places, buildings and people that provoke my creativity and excitement within the themes of transient spaces, I find myself lost creatively. As I photograph the exterior of falling buildings and empty spaces in Salford, I feel unexcited and unsure of my purpose. My journey seems to move literally towards places I have been to before, places that visually overwhelm me and intimidate me, but in the same viewing entice. I watch others photograph the same structure… one I have been to many times before. The Castlefield Viaduct. Just as I approach it a huge storm strikes and I found myself running for shelter underneath the bridge next to it. As the rain fell harder the sun began to shine and a huge rainbow appeared right across the top. I decided to take the hint and think about where this project could be taken forward.

 

Leave a Reply

