The Whistle Art Stop, Haltwhistle: Artist Residency 2015

IMG_9326
I was delighted to find out that the hard work of Alison Raimes finally paid off and with the funding from the arts council confirmed I was invited to join the Whistle Art Stop in Haltwhistle, Northumberland in Jan 2015 as an artist in residence.
I visited Alison in December, just before christmas on a wonderfully sunny day, passing the snowy hills on the way up on the train from Manchester. It was a bustling Friday morning along the high street and I was stuck by the friendly and welcoming attitude of everyone I came into contact with. There was a wonderful village feel, everyone greeted each other by their first names as they popped in and out of the few shops on the main high street. I took a second glance as I walked past the busy Billy Bells butchers spotting a pheasant hanging by the entrance, with it’s head in a bag, catching all the drained blood.It was lovely to see so many people buying local produce from small businesses.

After meeting Alison and seeing the venue I felt very excited, we plotted away and set a date for me to come and start working- with the plan to curate an exhibition at the end of the month, showcasing the work produced during my stay.

Leave a Reply

