Book Binding- A new found love.

During my first visit to Haltwhistle I spotted the Newcastle Bookshop on the main road.  I also noticed that is was closed and for sale. I wrote the number and email down and sent Valerie an email asking if we could meet in the new year and discuss ideas for the presentation of my plates. I was delighted to hear back from Valerie and she suggested we meet. On the first Saturday of my residency she came to visit and we walked over to her shop.IMG_9981

I showed Valerie the ideas I have had and an example of one I bought a long time ago from an antique shop. It has an art deco design and is both a frame and a case for the image.

I have developed a great friendship with Valerie over the time I have been here, we have spent some time in her shop making and designing wallets and frames and she has provided support throughout the month while I continue to work independently on the designs. Below are the some images of the progression of the work. I am now the owner of my own finishing tools and plan to continue making things like this back in Manchester in the shop I am currently working in. https://www.facebook.com/BBQArts?fref=ts

IMG_0017 IMG_0381 IMG_0382 IMG_0383 IMG_0384 IMG_0392 IMG_0399

Leave a Reply

