Manchester Locomotive Society- Photo shoot 20-11-13

Screen Shot 2013-11-20 at 12.46.41 Screen Shot 2013-11-20 at 12.46.47

I organised a trip to the Manchester Locomotive Society, this time with a particular purpose. I was feeling a little overwhelmed when i turned up last week, as I wasn’t quite sure what i wanted to capture. The office is spacious but busy on a Wednesday. The members are very energetic and have lots to do , so it can be quite restricting, when it comes to photographing in a snap shot way. I have found that most photos I have taken up until now haven’t quite captured the personalities I meet each time and their generosity and enthusiasm. so I organised a photo shoot, arranged for an assistant to attend and assist with lighting etc. I got all the equipment I needed, which involved a canon D5, with a 50mm 1.4 lens, two red head lights and my Bronica withy colour slide film. Working in this way meant we all knew what was taking place and i could have more control over what i wanted to capture and ask the members. I set up a studio in the main meeting room, using a balance of ambient light and red heads. As I photographed the members I got my assistant to document all the members names and roles within the society.

Leave a comment